Sound Documentation

Author: MarioReincarnate

Date: December 1, 2019


File nameFile typeSize
SSB64 Sound Data.xlsxNo description226.1 kBInfo

Category: SSB Documentation


Documentation regarding the various sound files in Smash Bros. 64. Link to google document version:

Here are some associated notes:

- commands start with a byte (usually DX) then are followed by either a byte if it's less than 0x80 or a halfword if 0x80 or higher, making command blocks be either 2 or 3 bytes total
- DE command is always first, and next byte is either 00, 01, 02, 03 or 04 (haven't explored what that is)
- D1 command is a pointer to the SFX_ID
- D2 command is almost always followed by FF but is used with 9A, A4, B2 or D2 as well and is only absent on 5 fgms… it can be set multiple times and appears to affect the playback position - >7F seems to indicate to play to the length of the subsequent non-DX commands (see below) and then reset to the beginning, whereas any other value seems to play the length and not reset to the beginning after each one
- D3 command is often repeated multiple times, not sure what it is yet
- D5 command is volume, not sure if next byte follows 0x80 rule or not
- D9 command references another FGM_ID
- DC command - haven't explored
- D0 command marks the end of the microcode
- commands that don't start with D seem to be what plays the sound and is broken into 2 parts:
- first byte (maybe can be 2 bytes following 0x80 rule, haven't confirmed) is the pitch
- next byte or bytes (0x80 rule) is the length of the raw data to play… if it reaches the end of the sample, it starts from the beginning

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License